Where am I? Who am I?

I am where: Madison, Indiana aka Kentuckiana aka a long way away from Columbus, Ohio.

I am who: Crazy? That seems to be the consensus…
Try explaining to friends and family that you are moving to a town you’ve never been to before now, living an hour away from a job you took to be closer to this town, and that it all is because of the call you feel on your life.
Oh wait, did I mention that this is all for an associate pastor’s position? That I come into a situation to be the oldest person on the ministry team of 3? That my wife had to stop and restart her schooling at a new college? That the church is struggling with no youth, a handful of children, mostly people over 50, and glaring amount of red on the books?
Go ahead, try to explain and have people, even self-professing Christians, understand. “Hi, I’m Scott Casto and I changed jobs, moved my family from Columbus, Ohio to rural-town, Indiana, am paying 2 rent payments, and am doing this all for a distinct and clear call on my life by my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.”
Then explain it to your parents, your wife’s parents, your old co-workers, your new co-workers, etc….
But wait! Stop! Hold it right there! You can’t… really. It doesn’t make sense to me either. Well, it does, but I don’t know why God has me here. All I can do is trust in that. All I can do is rest in that. Rest is the only option that will be fruitful as far as I can see; Not worrying about it. If I worry too much I might what?… try. Try to make sense, try to push agendas, try to make things happen, try to find reason in results of my actions…. Wait! Stop! Hold it right there!
Did God call me so I can try hard? Did God call me here to make sense of it all? Or did God call me here so in the middle of a situation that has me in over my head I can learn more to find rest? Why should I expel energy as a branch? I get energy from the vine… I cannot do anything apart from the vine. But with the vine, I can grow, stretching towards the sky, but all because of the vine. All because of the energy of the vine. All because of the strength of the vine. All because of the life of the vine, I have life. So no, I will not try to do anything but dwell in, abide in, take comfort in the energies of the vine; that grow me, strengthen me, and push me to my unrealized potential only made possible by the vine.
God called me here for many reasons I believe… not only disciple and serve the small percentage of the 26k residents of 47250 that attend Madison First Church of the Nazarene (MadNaz); not only the larger percentage that are lost; but also to find rest in not knowing what in the world is going on and to be fueled, sourced, and amazed by the vine – His Spirit.
3 thoughts on “Where am I? Who am I?

Add yours

  1. You're an inspiration buddy. You really are. I know its hard to see it that way but its the truth. You're showing more faith in God than 80% of the population of the earth right now.

  2. Hey Scotty!
    I really liked when you said this…Did God call me so I can try hard? Did God call me here to make sense of it all? Or did God call me here so in the middle of a situation that has me in over my head I can learn more to find rest? Why should I expel energy as a branch? I get energy from the vine… I cannot do anything apart from the vine. But with the vine, I can grow, stretching towards the sky, but all because of the vine. All because of the energy of the vine. All because of the strength of the vine. All because of the life of the vine. Your vision is clear in that you know that this is where God wants you…and you just have to leave the how up to God for him to work it out. You are correct in saying that sometimes things are even hard to explain to our Christian friends and they may say things like, “Maybe you didn't hear God right?” “I don't think you are following God's will.” “Why would God have you do that?” but the truth is you know what God has called you to do and I am praying for you! Be bold, take risks, and know that I am praying for you!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

