Watchmen

It’s funny how life works.  Actually, it’s funny how God works.  Last week I attended the Cross Style Training Camp in Lebanon, TN.  (If you missed it or couldn’t make it or didn’t know about it, you can still catch the videos HERE.) One of the evangelists, Chad Seabright, spoke about how he felt that God was asking him, “Where are the watchmen for America?”  He spoke about how watchmen in the OT would stand on the city wall and watch for things and report them to the city.  How the city would live in peace, resting in the fact that watchman of their city would let them know of trouble.  He spoke about pastors, teachers, evangelists, etc. being watchmen.  Then he took it a step further and talked about people who prayed were watchmen, as they interceded and kept watch over people by praying.  He referenced Isaiah 62:6+ in dealing with this.

I’m sure you’re saying “Ok, so what?  It stuck out to you, Scott, that’s nice.”  Well in continuing on my summer book reading journey, I started into the story of John “Praying” Hyde yesterday.  In there it talked about Hyde and how he took the idea of intercession as a life calling.  How he’d spend days in prayer – without food and without sleep – until he was given the promise of victory.  There’s a lot I more to say about this man, but that’s not the point.  The point is that he keyed in on Isaiah 62:6-7 early on in his life and saw it as his calling.

So I just sit back and say “Wow! Twice in less than a week!”  This idea has been pushed to the front of my attention and so I have to ask why?  What does it all mean?  Even more serious of a question than about rainbows, I am seeking Jesus to see what it means.  I just thought I’d share…

So I asked the question on Facebook and I’ll ask it here for both my readers (lol, love you two!); who do you know that’s living this calling?

“O Jerusalem, I have posted watchmen on your walls;
they will pray day and night, continually.
Take no rest, all you who pray to the Lord.
Give the Lord no rest until he completes his work,
until he makes Jerusalem the pride of the earth.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

