“It’s Not About Me” review

It’s Not About Me by Max Lucado – I recently read this book on a midwest to west coast plane and found it very easy to read.  I’ll be honest here and say that I’ve only read 2 or 3 other Lucado books.  I don’t necessarily have anything against his books, but I find most of his writing to be sugar coated positivism that doesn’t tackle anything too deeply or with much conviction.

I didn’t disagree with 90% of what this book had to say, but it didn’t really stir much in my soul, either.  It seemed more like something I’d like to read on a day when I was losing site of the reality of God and the purpose of our creation.  Maybe if I had been down or just need a shot of happiness then this would have a more profound interaction with my mind and soul.  However, like I said, I don’t think there was much soul-stirring, gut checking in this book.  I doubt even that was the author’s intent, but that’s what I look for in a book.  I found this book to be very surface level.

I also didn’t get much out of the second-to-last chapter.  It had to do with blessings from God and how he will reward you for investing in Him.  Although I agree with the principle, the application Lucado made, specifically to monetary gain was something I couldn’t enjoy no mater the sugar or positive spin.

You may enjoy this book and if it brings you closer to God, then I’m all for it.  The idea that “it’s about God, not me” is definitely something that Christians need to be reminded of, especially in the ego-centric, victim-mentality, narcissistic existence that many of us have spent part of our lives in.  At the same time, the surface level treatment left a lot to be desired by this reader.

I’d give it a 2.5/5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on ““It’s Not About Me” review

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

